> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://kb.bravegen.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://kb.bravegen.com/carbon/configuration/user-management.md).

# User Management

Users with the **Administrator** role are responsible for managing and inviting users to the platform.

Management of users can be accessed from Settings -> Users

As user access can be limited by product, you can confirm a user has access to the carbon product by checking for the *carbon* label under the features column header.

## Inviting a User

To invite a user, you will need to click the 'invite user' button on the top right. This will open a modal window which will prompt you to configure the user's details. All fields are required to be filled

{% stepper %}
{% step %}

### First Name & Last Name

Used for salutations and management only. Minimum 2 characters
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Display Name

How the user will be displayed in the software. Minimum 4 characters
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Email Address

The email address the invite and any notifications will be sent to
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Role

Configures what the user can and cant do within the software. For details about each role see: [User Roles](/carbon/configuration/user-management/user-roles.md)
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

### Permissions

Grant access to individual product features and entity or group access.

If you are granting access for an Editor Role, you can choose to grant them access to all Collect Processes and Tasks, or restrict to only assigned.

{% endstep %}
{% endstepper %}

An invitation email will be sent to the user

## Restricting Entity Access

Non-admin users can be restricted to only view specific Carbon Entities within the system. This can be administrated by clicking the 'cogs' icon on a user's row on the user table at 'Settings -> Users'    and then selecting the 'configure access' button next to the Carbon or Utilities product permission options.

Access can be granted to any entity within the reporting hierarchy. Access permissions cascade to all child entities of a selected entity, so it is not possible to restrict access to select child entities if the user has access to the parent.

## User Status

Users can have the following status:

* Invited - Has not accepted the invite and logged in yet
* Active - Can access the system
* Suspended - Can not access the system.

## User Activity Logs

User activity logs are retained for 90 days. You can view a user's activity by clicking 'Show activity Logs' next to the permissions option on the user settings screen

## Resetting User Passwords

Admins cannot currently reset a password, or resend an access invitation. If a user wishes to gain access to their account they will need to follow the forgot password flow.

### Forgot Password

To regain access to your BraveGen account, follow these steps

{% stepper %}
{% step %}

#### Visit Login Screen

<https://secure.bravegen.com>
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

#### Enter Email Address

click next
{% endstep %}

{% step %}

#### Click Forgot Your Password

and follow the steps to enter your email address (again)
{% endstep %}
{% endstepper %}

## Removing Users / Revoking Access

Administrators can remove users from their organisation. To remove a user, click the trash button on the Settings -> Users table row for the user you want to remove. You will be prompted to confirm the removal of this user from the organisation. The removed users' data will remain in the system for traceability. You may wish to consider setting their status to 'suspended' instead.

{% hint style="danger" %}
If you delete access for yourself you will no longer be able to access this organisation.
{% endhint %}

## &#x20;Account Management FAQ

<details>

<summary>What happens to a user's data if I remove them from my organisation?</summary>

All user data relationships are preserved, however they will be unable to access their account. We do this to provide a clear audit trail of historical data.

</details>

<details>

<summary>What happens to tasks and processes user is assigned to when they are removed from the organisation?</summary>

There is no change, the user will still be displayed as 'assigned'. However, they will not receive any email notifications or reminders. You should assign these tasks and processes to an active user.

</details>

<details>

<summary>Can a user that has been removed reclaim their account?</summary>

yes, by reinviting the same email address, this will restore their account automatically

</details>

<details>

<summary>What Single Sign On (SSO) methods does BraveGen support?</summary>

We support standalone (email+password+MFA support) or SSO, SSO is delegated to the identity provider. BraveGen currently supports Azure Identity, with other providers available on request.

</details>
